Erling Haaland reportedly won Golden Boot in five Premier League seasons

Erling Haaland scored his 19th and 20th Premier League goals in Manchester City’s 3-1 win over Leeds United on Wednesday night – meaning he would have enough goals to win the Golden Boot in five different seasons.

Haaland has only managed to score against Liverpool, Bournemouth and Brentford in the games he has played since joining from Borussia Dortmund in the summer.

He became the fastest player to score 20 goals in Premier League history, managing in just 14 games.

In this sensational run, there are three consecutive hat-tricks at home to Crystal Palace, Nottingham Forest and Manchester United.

The Norwegian international is already a lock for the Golden Boot. His closest competitor is Harry Kane on 13, a fantastic tally at this stage of the campaign in his own right. That won’t be enough to stop Haaland.

Although it’s December 29, Haaland would have already sealed the Golden Boot if you let him down in five Premier League seasons.

He would either be the winner or share it with other players. We can say that he will score one more goal in the next 23 games, surely? Let’s take a look at the seasons in which we would already have our top scorer.

Haaland is simply outrageous.  (Image credit: Alamy)
Haaland is simply outrageous. (Image credit: Alamy)

1997-1998 – Chris Sutton (Blackburn Rovers), Dion Dublin (Coventry City), Michael Owen (Liverpool) – 18 goals

A three-way split here as a young Michael Owen bursts onto the scene. Sutton were already Premier League winners at this stage and Dublin moved to Aston Villa at the end of that season.

1998-1999 – Michael Owen (Liverpool), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United), Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Leeds United) – 18 goals

Owen kicked things off at Anfield, managing to win the Golden Boot for the second consecutive year. Yorke helped United to title glory as well as the FA Cup and Champions League. Hasselbaink’s exploits saw him switch from England to Spain in a £10m move to Atletico Madrid.

2006-2007 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea) – 20 goals

Drogba’s first Golden Boot is overshadowed by Chelsea failing to win their third successive Premier League title under Jose Mourinho. He would make up for it three years later.

Drogba has won the Golden Boot twice in his career.  (Image credit: Alamy)
Drogba has won the Golden Boot twice in his career. (Image credit: Alamy)

2008-2009 – Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea) – 19 goals

Anelka played for six Premier League clubs but looked most prolific at Stamford Bridge.

2010-2011 – Dimitar Berbatov (Manchester United), Carlos Tevez (Manchester City) – 20 goals

Berbatov was a man possessed by points this season. A hat-trick against Liverpool and five against Blackburn Rovers stand out. Tevez, meanwhile, made a late move to ensure the prize was shared.

How many Premier League goals do you think Erling Haaland will end up on? Let us know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *