T20 World Cup: South Africa secure thrilling win over India

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Group 2 Perth
India 133-9 (20 overs): S Yadav 68 (40); Ngidi 4-29, Parnell 3-15
South Africa 137-5 (19.4 overs): Miller 59* (46), Markram 52 (41); One Singh 2-25
South Africa won by five wickets
Scorecard. the tables

South Africa moved top of Group 2 with a nervy five-wicket win over India in the Men’s T20 World Cup.

Lungi Ngidi took 4-29 in a fine display of Proteas bowling to limit India to 133-9, despite Suryakumar Yadav punching 68 from 40 balls.

South Africa slipped to 24-3 in response, but David Miller’s 59 from 46 balls brought them home with two to spare.

Victory in Perth puts the Proteas ahead of India, who suffer their first defeat of the tournament.

Miller and Aiden Markram went 76 for the fourth wicket to tip the game in South Africa’s favor after their poor start with the bat.

Markram hit 52 from 41 to back up South Africa’s innings midway through overs, although he was dropped from 35 by Virat Kohli and outlasted Rohit Sharma by missing a clean five-yard chance seven balls later.

Markram eventually fell in 16th, but Miller kept his composure to see South Africa cross the line in a thrilling finish.

Previously, Bangladesh had briefly entered the top two with a spectacular victory over Zimbabwe, who are also still able to qualify.

In Sunday’s second match, the Netherlands were eliminated after defeat against Pakistan, whose chances of progression are now very slim.

The excellent South African bowlers

It was a resounding victory for South Africa against a number one ranked Indian team in T20.

After the rain ruined their opening game against Zimbabwethe Proteas have now picked up back-to-back victories to announce themselves as true title contenders.

Their fearsome seam attack exploited fast, bouncing ground in Perth to explode through India’s top order, with a disciplined performance through the middle overs and excellent fielding that finally set the platform for victory.

After winning the toss and opting to strike, India limped to 33-2 after the power play, fly-half Rohit and KL Rahul falling to Ngidi within four balls.

Kohli became Ngidi’s third victim as he was dismissed for the first time from this tournament for 12, before Deepak Hooda edged the fiery Anrich Nortje to wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock for a duck.

When Kagiso Rabada landed a superb deep thin-leg diving catch to knock out Hardik Pandya for two from Ngidi’s bowling, India were shocked 49-5.

Suryakumar broke six fours and four sixes to launch a brave counterattack but continued to lack partners, with Rohit the second top scorer with 15.

More soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *