What is blind and is the Workplace app truly anonymous?

  • Silicon Valley employees flock to the anonymous workplace forum Blind.
  • Users discuss everything from technician salaries to major layoffs at Meta and Twitter.
  • Here’s everything you need to know about the Workplace app and how to sign up.

Silicon Valley employees turn to the anonymous work app Blind to discuss everything from recent layoffs to salaries.

The app has been popular among workers at tech giants like Uber, Meta and Twitter because users can post and connect anonymously with others in the industry.

Founded in 2013, Blind has been called “anti-LinkedIn”.

The app offers private company channels for users to discuss workplace issues or gossip with colleagues. It also functions as a messaging service where users can communicate privately or join group chats with employees of affiliated companies and offers a public channel.

Blind says it has 7 million registered users from over 300,000 companies. Here’s how it works.

How to make a blind profile

Users must register with an email address. Personal and work emails are accepted, but they will give users different levels of access and verification.

If workers sign up and verify a work email address, they will have full access and be able to join private channels dedicated to their company. Blind requires that at least 30 employees of a company sign up for the app before creating a channel for it.

If users sign up with a personal email, they will only have access to Blind’s public “Topics” channel.

Rick Chen, senior director and head of public relations at Blind, told Insider that people are normally verified using their work email.

“People can sign up for Blind using a free or personal email address or a college email address, but they won’t be able to post comments or reviews, start threads, or send direct messages. We limit community participation because they are unverified users,” Chen said.

“People can’t self-identify their employer,” he added, explaining why using a work email is encouraged.

What are the employees talking about?

Workers can discuss everything from salary to workplace culture. The app offers features like a salary comparison tool and anonymous company reviews.

While compensation has traditionally been a hot topic on the platform, disruptions at major tech companies including Meta and Twitter have seen some employees take to the platform to vent over layoffs.

After Meta laid off more than 11,000 employees and Twitter laid off 50% of its workforce, many employees took to the platform to voice their opinions.

“The Metaverse will be our slow death,” one user, who described himself as a senior software developer at Meta, posted on Wednesday. They added, “Mark Zuckerberg will single-handedly kill a business with the meta-verse.”

Is Blind really anonymous?

Blind says user email addresses are encrypted and stored separately from account information. Real names are never connected to blind accounts and users will not be asked for this information.

Since verification is done with work emails, it is possible that an employer can see when a worker requests a verification code.

However, this is only the case if an employer monitors company email accounts.

Blind also discourages members from sharing personal information that could identify them in their posts or messages.

Do people lose their blind accounts if they are fired?

Chen said, “Almost all of the reviews posted were written by current employees of the respective companies at the time of writing, as people generally cannot access Blind after being fired or resigning.”

However, he confirmed that “loss of access after changing jobs is not immediate”.

He told Insider that users should recheck their work emails over time to make sure they’re still working for the company.

“After registration, we send out occasional prompts to re-verify their account. We want to make sure that users are still working at the listed company. Re-verification does not occur at a fixed or regularly scheduled time or cycle,” said he declared.

Chen added that if a user cannot re-verify, “they lose access to their blind account” and must register with their new email address at another employer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *