World Cup 2022: Lionel Messi joined by five Premier League players in the Argentina team

Lionel Messi and Julian Alvarez
Argentina will play their Group C opener against Saudi Arabia on November 22

Paris St-Germain’s Lionel Messi will play in his fifth World Cup final as part of an Argentina squad that includes five Premier League players.

Head coach Lionel Scaloni has combined veterans like Messi, 35, and Angel di Maria, 34, with younger players such as Manchester City striker Julian Alvarez.

Injured Roma striker Paulo Dybala, 28, also gets the nod despite not having played since October 9.

Argentina’s first game in Group C will be against Saudi Arabia on November 22.

They will also face Poland and Mexico.

Aston Villa goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez, Tottenham’s Christian Romero, Manchester United’s Lisandro Martinez and Brighton midfielder Alexis Mac Allister make up the contingent of Premier League players.

There is no room for Manchester United winger Alejandro Garnacho, 18, who was first called up to the senior team in March but has yet to earn his first cap.

The inclusion of Dybala provided the biggest surprise. The former Juventus striker was widely expected to miss the tournament after injuring his thigh while taking a penalty for Roma. Dybala was in great form before that, scoring in five consecutive matches.

Argentina, who won the Copa America title last year, are on a 35-game unbeaten streak. They last won the World Cup in 1986 and finished runners-up in 1990 and 2014.

“They are all proud to be chosen and to wear this jersey,” Scaloni said of the selections.

Argentina team

Guardians: Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa), Franco Armani (River Plate) and Geronimo Rulli (Villarreal)

Defenders: Gonzalo Montiel (Sevilla), Nahuel Molina (Atletico Madrid), German Pezzella (Real Betis), Cristian Romero (Tottenham Hotspur), Nicolas Otamendi (Benfica), Lisandro Martinez (Manchester United), Juan Foyth (Villarreal), Nicolas Tagliafico (Olympic Lyonnais), Marcos Acuna (Sevilla)

Midfielders: Leandro Paredes (Juventus), Guido Rodriguez (Real Betis), Enzo Fernandez (Benfica), Rodrigo De Paul (Atletico Madrid), Exequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen), Alejandro Gomez (Sevilla), Alexis Mac Allister (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Forwards: Paulo Dybala (AS Roma), Lionel Messi (Paris St Germain), Angel Di Maria (Juventus), Nicolas Gonzalez (Fiorentina), Joaquin Correa (Inter Milan), Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan), Julian Alvarez (Manchester City).

BBC Sport app banner

Get the latest results and goal notifications for any FIFA World Cup team by downloading the BBC Sport app: Appleexternal linkandroidexternal linkAmazonexternal link

BBC Sport Banner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *